Prescribe, Describe or Ascribe?

Ascribe Glory
I was reading Psalm 29 today and found the following verse:

Psalm 29:2 Ascribe to the LORD the glory due to His name;
Worship the LORD in holy array
.

The word, “ascribe” made me curious since it is not a word commonly used these days (at least not in my small world).  Dictionary.com had the following definition of the word ascribe:

–verb (used with object), -cribed, -crib⋅ing.

  1. to credit or assign, as to a cause or source; attribute; impute: The alphabet is usually ascribed to the Phoenicians
  2. to attribute or think of as belonging, as a quality or characteristic: They ascribed courage to me for something I did out of sheer panic.

The Lord is the source and cause of glory.   The word glory should remind me of the Lord.  Now, that is a good reason to worship the Lord.

Now, if only I could find that holy array (leaving to search my closet).

Leave a comment